Day 35: “Under the Sea” Dance

I woke up at 2:00 pm today. I read a few papers to help me write my poster introduction, but wasn’t very productive. I got dinner with a bunch of guys, and after that, we chilled until the dance.

We dressed up casually and went over to the room where we had our RISE orientation. There was music booming and some flashing lights, and people jumping up and down to the exciting music. Let me make a point here: The “Under the Sea” dance had nothing to do with anything under the sea. The strongest connection I could draw was that there were water dispensers, but I don’t think that counts. There

Let me make a point here: The “Under the Sea” dance had nothing to do with anything under the sea. The strongest connection I could draw was that there were water dispensers, but I don’t think that counts. There were cookies and lemonade, which were pretty decent quality.

Besides that flaw, the dance was actually a lot more fun than I expected. For one, John literally balled out the whole time with his sick dance moves. He wore a flowery shirt tucked into some brown pants, and looked like he was from the 60’s, and jumped up and down and flailed his arms about to the music. I was expecting his dancing to be really bad, but after a while, I realized that while his dancing was really cringe-worthy, his moves were pretty on point!

We had to stay until 9:30 pm, so for an hour we jammed out in the dance room. Despite the air conditioning, I sweated buckets inside the room. I was pretty self-conscious about dancing the whole time, but I’d say my best moment occurred while the DJ was playing “Sit Down.”  I was really feeling the music and went ham on the dance moves for a solid minute. I somehow ended up in the middle of a circle, and when the music played the lyrics “sit down,” I fell into a criss-cross applesauce sitting stance with perfect timing and everyone cheered. People were doing all sorts of crazy things — at one point, Bryan climbed and sat on Winston’s shoulders and the crowd went wild — until Bryan had to get off under a PA’s orders.

The whole dance was pretty fun, but I’m not really much of a party person. I was quite burnt out by the time it hit 9:30, so I headed back towards Warren Towers with Tyler. We worked on our posters unproductively until Bryan came back from the dance, and we basically talked until curfew.

I still have a lot of work left to do on my poster, but I hope I can finish 90% of the poster content by tomorrow evening. I do have a lot of things I plan on doing tomorrow though, such as doing laundry and getting a haircut. I’m probably going to sleep now so I can wake up in time for brunch tomorrow morning. Today was short (since I woke up so late) but it was quite fun!

See you all!
Max

Random things:

  • I finally cleaned of the pile of plastic water bottles sitting on my desk and dumped them into the recycling bin on our floor. I’ve been going through so many bottles!
  • I will now mention Bryan many times on this blog upon request: Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan Bryan.
  • He specifically wanted to be mentioned more times than Tyler, so I think this will do the trick. Also it brings my word count to over 700 so I can feel like this blog post is at a decent length.
  • The change machine worked today! I got some quarters for laundry.

Leave a Reply

